Sunday, September 25, 2016

Iceland submits SPARROWS for Best Foreign Language Film Oscar

The Icelandic Film and TV Academy has selected Rúnar Rúnarsson‘s Sparrows as Iceland‘s entry for the 2017 Best Foreign Language Film Oscar. Rúnarsson has previously had his short film The Last Farm nominated for Best Live Action Short Film Oscar in 2006.
Sparrows was written and directed by Rúnar Rúnarsson. It stars Atli Óskar Fjalarsson, Ingvar E. Sigurdsson, Rakel Björk Björnsdóttir and Kristbjörg Kjeld. It‘s score was composed by Kjartan Sveinsson and the film was produced by Nimbus Iceland and Pegasus Pictures. International sales are handled by Versatile Films.  Sparrows has had a strong festival run. The film had its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2015 and has since won a total of 20 international awards, including the Golden Shell award for Best Film at the San Sebastián International Film Festival

Sparrows awarded in Frankfurt

The jury, that is made up equally of young film enthusiasts and film industry professionals, gave SPARROWS the award for the Best Feature Film 13+ at  the 39th LUCAS – International Festival for Young Filmlovers (18th-25th September 2016).
The actress Rakel Björk Björnsdóttir was in Frankfurt on behalf of the film.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

SPARROWS makes selection list for European Film Awards

The European Film Academy has announced the 50 films that are recommended for nominations for the European Film Awards 2016. Among them is Rúnar Rúnarsson‘s Sparrows.

Monday, September 5, 2016

The following five films have been nominated for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2016.

Under sandet (Land of Mine) – dir.: Mart­in Zand­vliet
Hymyilevä mies (The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki) – dir.: Juho Kuosmanen 
Þrestir (Sparrows) – dir.: Rúnar Rúnarsson
Louder than Bombs – dir.: Joachim Trier
Efterskalv (The Here After) – dir.: Magnus van Horn

This is the thirteenth time that the Nordic Council Film Prize will be awarded.  The winners of the Nordic Council’s prizes will be announced and awarded at the DR Concert Hall in Copenhagen on 1 November.